The British Baseball Federation have made a change to the Sunday schedule at this weekend's Final 4.  The Herts Falcons game has been moved forward to the earlier 10am start.

Here is the official BBF press release:

The 2008 National Baseball Championships take place on September 6-7 at Roundshaw Playing Fields in Croydon. Twelve teams have made the finals, competing for the title of National Baseball Champions, as well as the champions of the AAA and AA Divisions.

The twelve finalists are:

National Baseball League
London Mets
Manchester Eagles
Menwith Hill Patriots
Richmond Flames

Herts Falcons
Humber Pilots
London Metros
Oxford Kings

Birmingham Maple Leafs
Bournemouth Sharks
Manchester A’s


In each bracket teams will play a single qualifying game to determine the two teams going to the finals. At NBL level the final will be contested over a three-game series. For AAA and AA a single game final will take place. Games will be played on two diamonds.

Spectators are welcome and entry and car parking is free. Food and drinks will be available.

Saturday 6 September

Diamond 1

10.00 AA Qualifier 1 – Bournemouth Sharks vs Birmingham Maple Leafs
12.00 AAA Qualifier 1 – Humber Pilots vs Herts Falcons
14.00 NBL Qualifier 1 – London Mets vs Menwith Hill Patriots
16.00 NBL Final Series Game 1

Diamond 2

10.00 AA Qualifier 2 – Manchester A's vs Sidewinders
12.00 AAA Qualifier 2 – Oxford Kings vs London Metros
14.00 NBL Qualifier 2 – Manchester Eagles vs Richmond Flames
16.00 AA 3rd/4th Place Game

Sunday 7 September

Diamond 1

10.00 AAA Final
12.00 NBL Final Series Game 2
14.00 NBL Final Series Game 3

Diamond 2

10.00 AAA 3rd/4th Place Game
12.00 NBL 3rd/4th Place Game
14.00 AA Final

All games are over seven innings with the standard ten run “slaughter” rule applied from the fifth inning onwards. The team in each bracket with best regular season record plays its qualifier game on Diamond 1. Start times may be pushed back if earlier games overrun, however no game will start earlier than its scheduled time.

The previously billed A-Division championship has been cancelled due to unavailability of one of the teams due to play. A-Division regular season games continue in September, although the winner of each of the two groups – Croydon Pirates III and The Old Timers – has already been determined.

Start a Conversation