A very unusual situation challenging the baseball rulebook occured last week in a Single-A game between the Cyclones and the Statton Island Yankees. 

A switch-hitter looks to gain an advantage by hitting on the left side vs a rightie pitcher and on the right side vs a leftie pitcher, but in this case the batter faced a “switch-pitcher” which is unheard of.  So who has priority over which side they bat/pitch from?  The Pitcher or the Batter?

This video was sent in by a Little League parent.

NOTE: If the embedded video does not work properly please use this link to view the video: http://www.redlasso.com/ClipPlayer.aspx?id=073860f8-cdc3-4778-92cb-ad2d20ac545d

Start a Conversation